IT's JUST a GAME

Coastal Heritage Greenway














Home | ENTRY | STAMPS | GAMES | CLUES | MAPS | FEES | SLEEP | SCHEDULE | FOOD | MURDER





































CLICK for the web site and map which would also include the New Castle stops. The following excerpt from the web site allows for printing as a single document.

Sussex County Stops:

23 Mispillion Lighthouse & Beacon Tower

[NOTE: The lighthouse was neglected for many years and was burned badly after being struck by lightning on May 2, 2002. The remains of the building were later removed by the owner.]

About one mile before you approach the Slaughter Beach area, you will see a historical marker commemorating Fort Saulsbury. This coastal defense fortification, completed in 1917, is named for Senator Willard Saulsbury, who achieved notoriety for his pro-South views during the Civil War.

In 1943, Fort Saulsbury was used to house German prisoners of war who were sent out to work on farms and in chicken factories in Sussex County. After World War II, the federal government put this land up for sale, and it was purchased in 1948 for private use. Two batteries remain on private property.

The Mispillion Lighthouse, located at the mouth of the Mispillion River and the Delaware Bay, is the sole surviving wood-frame lighthouse in Delaware. It is the third wood-frame lighthouse to stand in this spot, the first of which was built in 1831. Damage caused by erosion necessitated rebuilding the lighthouse in 1843. That lighthouse was taken out of service in 1857 and later moved to Milford.

In 1873, a new lighthouse was built by Congressional order. In 1929, it was again deactivated and replaced by the 60-foot skeleton steel beacon tower which remains standing beside the lighthouse. The lighthouse has been damaged over the years by storms, but it remains standing. Both the lighthouse and the beacon tower are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

As you drive on Road 203, notice the Cedar Creek unit of the Milford Neck Wildlife Area. Take this opportunity to look for a variety of shore birds, including osprey, who fish the waters of the Delaware Bay.

Founded in 1681, Slaughter Beach is located southeast of the Mispillion Lighthouse at the end of Route 36. The flag of Slaughter Beach displays a horseshoe crab; a walk along any Delaware Bay beach lets visitors know the appropriateness of this symbol. The beach is open to the public, but please respect the private property of the residents who live along the beach. Parking for the beach is available on the side streets.

Directions: After leaving the Mispillion Lighthouse, follow Road 203 to Route 36 and turn left. Follow Route 36 to Road 204; turn right onto Road 224. Follow Road 224 to Route 1. Follow Route 1 south to Route 16 East.

24 Prime Hook National Wildlife Refuge

The Prime Hook National Wildlife Refuge was established in 1963 to preserve coastal wetlands as habitat for migrating waterfowl. Of its 8,817 acres, about 6,800 acres are fresh-water marsh, tidal marsh, and water. Turkle and Fleetwood Ponds, as well as the tidal waterways within the refuge, are open for sport-fishing. Waters within the refuge are also open for canoeing and boating.

Prime Hook’s four hiking trails include the Boardwalk Trail; an interpretive brochure is available. Brochures for this trail and other literature about the refuge can be found in the office. The office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. The refuge is open from ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset throughout the year. For more information call the refuge at (302) 684-8419.

Directions: After leaving Prime Hook, follow Route 16 East to South Bay Shore Drive and turn right. This road will take you to Beach Plum Island Nature Preserve.

25 Beach Plum Island Nature Preserve

Broadkill Beach is named for the Broadkill River, which runs from just south of Beach Plum Island west to the town of Milton. As you drive south through Broadkill Beach, you will come to the Beach Plum Island Nature Preserve. This 129-acre barrier island is protected by the state to preserve habitat for plant and animal species.

The island is about two miles long, extending to the Roosevelt Inlet, just north of Lewes. The beach is open for surf fishing, beachcombing, and nature study from March through mid-December. Only the north half of the island is open for public use. If you would like to explore this site on foot, please leave your car in the parking lot at the entrance to the Nature Preserve. The beach access road is open only to four-wheel drive vehicles with Delaware surf fishing permits. Remember to take only pictures and leave only footprints. Insect repellant is recommended for this stop.

Directions: To continue the Auto Tour, follow South Bay Shore Drive back to Route 16 and turn left; follow this road back to Route 1. From Route 1, turn left onto Route 9. Bear left onto Kings Highway and follow it in to Lewes.

26 Lewes

Settled by the Dutch in 1631, Lewes was the first European settlement in what is now the state of Delaware. Later in the same year, the settlement was destroyed in an Indian attack. In the mid-1650’s, the Dutch built a new fort in the area called Zwaanendael, which means "Valley of the Swans."

Between the time of the first settlement and 1682, the town underwent many name changes, including "Plockhoy," "The Hoornkill," "Whorekill," and "Deale." Finally, in 1682, William Penn named the establishment Lewes, after his birthplace in Lewes, England. Until 1791, Lewes served as the county seat of Sussex County. Because of demand from residents of western Sussex County for a more centrally-located county government, the county seat was moved to Georgetown in 1791.

Lewes played a role in the War of 1812. In 1813, the British blockaded the Delaware Bay and demanded 20 live bullock and fresh vegetables, threatening to bombard the town. On April 6, 1813, the British opened fire on Lewes, killing no one, though a chicken and a pig were wounded. Few houses were damaged by this bombardment. Two days later, the British left the Cape.

Lewes’ motto is "a town of busy days and quiet nights." Leave your car and walk through Lewes to experience its rich heritage. A variety of museums and historic homes are available for touring. A good place to begin your walk is the Fisher-Martin House, home to the Lewes Chamber of Commerce and Visitors Bureau’s information center and office. Be sure to visit the Cannonball House Maritime Museum and the Historic Complex. Visit the information center to obtain a walking-tour guide and other literature about Lewes.

The Zwaanendael Museum

The Zwaanendael Museum, at the intersection of Kings Highway and Savannah Road, is run by Delaware State Museums. The museum displays exhibits that convey the rich history of Sussex County. For more information, call the Zwaanendael Museum at (302) 645-1148.

Hours: Tuesday through Saturday -10:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Sunday -1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Closed Mondays and state holidays. Public restroom facilities are located behind the Zwaanendael Museum and the Fisher-Martin House.

Fisher-Martin House

Hours: Monday through Friday, year-round -10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. During the summer, the center is also open: Saturday - 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Sunday -10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Call (302) 645-8073 for information.

Directions: When leaving Lewes, proceed east on Savannah Road, and make a right on Cape Henlopen Drive. This road will take you to Cape Henlopen State Park, the final stop on the Coastal Heritage Greenway Auto Tour.

27 Cape Henlopen State Park

When the lands that currently comprise Delaware were granted to William Penn in 1682, Penn proclaimed Cape Henlopen and its natural resources for the common usage of the people of Lewes and Sussex County. In effect, Cape Henlopen became the nation’s first "public land."

The Delaware Breakwater was the first structure of its kind in the Western Hemisphere. The breakwater, built to provide an area of calm water at the entrance to Delaware Bay, has been an important aid to navigation. The breakwater and the lighthouses that stand on it are visible from the Point parking lot.

The Cape Henlopen Lighthouse once stood on the north side of the Great Dune at the Cape. This lighthouse was built by the British Colonial Government in 1764. The builders of the lighthouse did not know that the Great Dune was moving westward at a rate of three to five feet per year. On April 13, 1926, a strong wind toppled the lighthouse. The spot where the lighthouse stood is estimated to be one-half mile out from the current shoreline of Cape Henlopen.

Cape Henlopen is the site of the former Delaware Breakwater Quarantine Station. From 1885 until the beginning of World War I, immigrants on their way to Wilmington and Philadelphia would pass through this station to be checked for signs of disease. If a passenger on a ship showed any signs of contagious disease, he or she would be removed from the ship and detained at the hospital on shore at Cape Henlopen. This quarantine station was officially abandoned in 1926.

In 1941, the U.S. Army established Fort Miles at Cape Henlopen. Fort Miles was well concealed and protected against enemies trying to reach the cities along the Delaware Bay and River. Concrete observation towers were built along the coast to spot enemy ships. These towers still stand in Cape Henlopen State Park and at other coastal locations to the south. When the U.S. Department of Defense declared 543 acres of the Cape to be surplus property, the state accepted the land and established Cape Henlopen State Park in 1964.

Today, the park’s 3,769 acres provide a variety of recreational and educational opportunities for visitors. Swim, sunbathe, or just walk along the Cape’s sandy beaches. Surf fishing and crabbing are other popular activities.

Explore nature on your visit to Cape Henlopen. A walk along the Pinelands Trail will take you through a maritime forest to observe the shift in the plant communities from sun-loving to shade-tolerant plants and trees. Gordons Pond, in the southern section of the park, features a saltwater lagoon. Along the coast, the Great Dune rises 80 feet above sea level, and further inland, the famous Walking Dunes slowly move across the pine forests.

The Seaside Nature Center provides environmental education through its marine aquarium, exhibits, and programs. The Nature Center is also a good place to stop for park information; trail guides and informational brochures are available at the Center. The Nature Center is open from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., seven days a week. For more information, call (302) 645-6852.

Cape Henlopen State Park is open from 8:00 a.m. until sunset daily; an entrance fee is charged. Public restrooms are available in the Nature Center and in other locations within the park. For more information call the park office at (302) 645-8983

Kent County Stops:

14 Woodland Beach Wildlife Area

As you approach the Woodland Beach Wildlife Area, you will see the Aquatic Resource Education Center. This center, run by the Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife, provides educational programs to school groups and other members of the public about aquatic resources such as wetlands and fisheries.

A trail featuring an interpretive rest area and a boardwalk is located behind the Center. A walk along the trail provides excellent opportunities for learning about Delaware’s tidal wetlands and the species that they support. It’s also a great location for birdwatching. Parking is available at the Center.

The first purchase of land for the Woodland Beach Wildlife Area was made in 1953. This 4,794-acre wildlife area is a popular site for fishing, nature study, and crabbing. A bird watching tower is located nearby. This refuge offers sanctuary for huge flocks of Snow and Canada geese.

The area is managed primarily for waterfowl hunting, which is allowed seasonally on a small portion of the land. For information on permitted uses of the wildlife area, contact the Delaware Division of Fish and Wildlife at (302) 653-2882.

15 Woodland Beach

The town of Woodland Beach was once a thriving resort. There was a boardwalk, an enclosed swimming area, and concession stands. The storm of 1878 washed away the land between the town and the mainland, leaving Woodland Beach a virtual island. Now old streets are underwater.

A developer named James R. "Old Man" Mott owned the concessions, rides, and dance hall at Woodland Beach. His feat in building a road through the marsh, using only a mule and a "mud digger," is legendary today. The road is still in existence as Route 6.

From the 1920’s on, Woodland Beach became a less popular destination for beach-goers as cars and highways made trips to ocean resorts more feasible for Kent County’s summer vacationers. Today, there is a fishing pier and a boat ramp here.

Directions: Return to south-bound Route 9 to continue on the Auto Tour.

16 Allee House

Within the Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge is one of the best-preserved early farm houses in Delaware. The Allee House is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was built by Abraham Allee, son of a Huguenot refugee, in about 1753. Abraham Allee served in the Delaware Assembly in 1726 and as Chief Ranger for Kent County in 1749. As Chief Ranger, Allee’s job was to maintain order in land disputes and during troubles with Indians, an important and prestigious job in that era. Other descendants of the family went on to occupy prominent positions in the state as well.

This Georgian-style house, as well as the surrounding environment, remain unaltered in appearance. The house stands alone on a broad plain overlooking cultivated fields, woodlands, and marshes, just as it did when it was built. The Allee House is currently a private residence and is open for tours on weekends in the spring and fall. Hours are from 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. For more information about the Allee House, call the Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge at (302) 653-6872.

Directions: To reach Stop 17 (Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge), turn left onto Whitehall Neck Road. The Refuge is located approximately 2.3 miles off of Route 9.

17 Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge

Established in 1935, Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge is one of the most important sanctuaries of the Atlantic Flyway, and a vital link in the international chain of wildlife refuges from Canada to the Gulf of Mexico. The more than 16,000 acres of brackish salt marsh, freshwater pools, brush and timbered swamp, croplands, and grassy and timbered upland serve as home for 256 identified species of birds, 33 species of mammals, and 37 species of reptiles and amphibians.

Birdwatching is a favorite activity among visitors to the refuge. White-tailed deer, fox, otter, muskrat, opossum, gray squirrel, woodchuck, and bald eagle can also be seen by the careful observer.

A 12-mile round-trip auto tour route and several nature trails (ranging from a quarter mile to one mile in length) provide opportunities to observe and photograph wildlife. A photography blind is available by advance request. Three of the trails also have 30-foot observation towers. In addition, picnic tables provide for a pleasant visit.

Bombay Hook Visitor Center
(302) 653-6872
Hours:
Monday through Friday -
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Weekends - 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
The Visitor Center is closed on summer and winter weekends.

The Visitor Center offers wildlife exhibitions, restroom facilities, and souvenirs for visitors. Tours, habitat studies, nature walks, and audio-visual programs are available to groups by advance request. Volunteer, teacher, and leader workshops are offered in the spring and fall. The refuge charges an entrance fee. Insect repellant is recommended for this site.

Directions: To continue on the Auto Tour, return to Route 9. Follow Route 9 to Front Street in Leipsic . Make a left on Front Street and proceed to Main Street. Turn right on Main Street and continue straight until Main Street merges with Route 9.

18 Leipsic

In 1723, the town of Fast Landing was laid out on Little Duck Creek. The site was the first solid land up the creek from the bay. For almost two centuries, muskrats, oysters, salt hay, peaches, and tomatoes were bought and sold at the town’s wharf. In 1814, the thriving trade in muskrat pelts prompted the residents to change the town’s name to Leipsic for Leipzig, Germany, a noted fur-shipping port.

Muskrat is a popular dish in Delaware’s rural areas. From December to mid-March, the role of the muskrat in local life is evident. From trappers in hip boots and rain jackets to weekly muskrat dinners in local diners, the muskrat is very much a part of the local landscape.

Between 1836 and 1854, small boats were constructed in Leipsic and local products were shipped to Philadelphia. In 1888, Leipsic Canning Company was said to be the largest in the state, with an annual capacity of one million cans. Now the several fishing boats tied to the pier remain as proud symbols of the past.

19 Port Mahon

The Port Mahon Lighthouse was built in 1903. The landmark burned down in 1984; the pilings are all that remain today. In the past, this road was lined with fishing shacks, docks, oyster shucking houses, and some residences. At one time there was also a migrant camp for workers. All of these buildings have long since eroded into the bay.

The pipeline that you see along the road is the main jet fuel supply line for Dover Air Force Base. This fuel is brought in by tankers. There is a public boat launch at the end of this road. This is a good spot for fishing and observing shorebird migration.

Port Mahon is perhaps one of the most graphic demonstrations of beach erosion in recent Delaware history. The lighthouse originally stood more than 200 feet inland, but today, the pilings stand in water. The state of Delaware has spent considerable time and effort trying to fend off the inevitable, but Mother Nature is clearly winning the battle. The dirt portion of the road is subject to seasonal flooding, and using the road during or after a hard or long rain is not recommended.

Special Note: Route 89 out to Port Mahon is impassible at times.

20 Little Creek Wildlife Area

The first piece of land was purchased for this wildlife area in 1957. Little Creek Wildlife Area now consists of over 4,500 acres. The wildlife area is broken up into two sections, the smaller of which adjoins Bombay Hook National Wildlife Refuge. It is hoped that future land acquisitions will connect these sections, creating the longest continuous protected area on Delaware’s coast.

Little Creek Wildlife Area is managed primarily for waterfowl. Most of the property is available for hunting. There are 15 waterfowl blinds, three photographic blinds, an observation tower, a boardwalk, and two gravel boat ramps. Bank fishing and crabbing are also popular here. For more information about Little Creek Wildlife Area, call (302) 678-9472.

Directions: From Route 9, turn onto Bergold Lane. Follow this road to Kitts Hummock Road. This will place you across from the entrance to the St. Jones Reserve. To continue on to the John Dickinson Plantation, turn right onto Kitts Hummock; the plantation will be on your left.

21 John Dickinson Plantation

The Dickinson Mansion is one of Delaware’s superb old plantation houses and is operated by Delaware State Museums. Built in 1740 by Judge Samuel Dickinson, this brick mansion was the boyhood home of two distinguished sons of the judge, John and Philemon.

John, the best-known of the brothers, was called the "Penman of the Revolution" for his many inspired essays on colonial rights and liberty. As a delegate to the Constitutional Convention, he helped bring about an important compromise essential to the creation of the Constitution. Though he was politically active in both Pennsylvania and Delaware, he signed the U.S. Constitution in 1787 as a delegate from Delaware. Philemon became a major-general in the Continental Army and an early member of Congress from both Delaware and New Jersey.

Just south of the Plantation is the Ted Harvey Conservation Area - Logan Lane Tract, a 2,016-acre site managed primarily for hunting and as a refuge for migrating waterfowl. There is an observation blind on the beach for viewing a variety of birds. Here you might see bald eagles, widgeons, teal, mallards, and other species. There are also waterfowl blinds, field pits, deer blinds, and a handicapped-accessible fishing pond. At the fishing pond, there are picnic tables and accessible portable toilets. Almost nine miles of trails (most of which are dirt roads) are open on a seasonal basis, depending on hunting seasons.

This property was the site of Kent County’s first European settlement. Kingston-Upon-Hull dates from the late 1600’s. Additions in the late 1700’s and 1800’s enlarged the structure to its present size. Among its more illustrious owners were Sarah Rodney Nowell, mother of Caesar Rodney, Jr., and Dr. Nathaniel Luff, Sarah’s grandson. Logan Lane Farm, currently a private residence, was built as a tenant house about 1810 by Sally Dickinson, John Dickinson’s daughter and heir to his Kent County properties.

The St. Jones Reserve component of the Delaware National Estuarine Research Reserve, comprising over 700 acres of land, is located off Kitts Hummock Road. The Reserve features tidal brackish- and salt-water marshes dominated by saltmarsh cordgrass and salt hay, and open water buffered by upland woodlands, farmlands, and meadows.

The St. Jones Reserve features a one-mile, self-guided nature trail that includes a quarter-mile boardwalk across the marsh. The trail is open from sunrise to sunset except during hunting season; trail guides are available at the Dickinson Plantation Visitor Center. For more information on the Reserve and its programs, call the Division of Parks & Recreation at (302) 739-4413.

Directions: Follow Kitts Hummock Road to Route 113 South.

 

Visitor Center at John Dickinson Plantation
(302) 739-3277

In addition to the Mansion, there is a Visitor Center and a reconstruction of a "log’d dwelling" similar to those which housed both slaves and tenant farmers on the plantation. Guides in historical costume interpret the daily life of the Dickinson family, tenants, and slaves. Give yourself plenty of time to see the Visitor Center, mansion, and grounds. Public restrooms are available. There is no charge, but donations are accepted.

Hours: Tuesday through Saturday -10:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Sundays -1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. The Mansion and Visitor Center are closed on Mondays, state holidays, and on Sundays during January and February.

22 Barratt's Chapel

Barratt’s Chapel, known as the "Cradle of Methodism," was built in 1780 by Phillip Barratt and his father-in-law, Waitman Sipple. It is the oldest surviving church built by and for Methodists in the United States.

In 1784, the Chapel was the site of a historic meeting between Thomas Coke, a Methodist preacher, and Francis Asbury, a follower of Methodist Church founder John Wesley. In November of that year, the two men met here to plan a Christmas Eve conference in Baltimore of all Methodist preachers. At this conference, plans were made to separate from the Church of England, and the Methodist Episcopal Church in America was born.


Barratt’s Chapel Museum and Archives were opened in 1964. It contains artifacts dating from the late 1700’s owned by Methodists from Delaware and Maryland’s Eastern Shore. Public restroom facilities are available at the museum.

Hours: Weekends - 1:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
To visit at other times, please call and make an appointment at (302) 335-5544.
 




























 
If you have questions or comments, please email
sew
sewbizzy

sewsewbizzy@yahoo.com